

Bronx Community College – CUNY 2155 University Avenue Bronx, New York 10453 www.bcc.cuny.edu P: 718.289.5100

BCC Auxiliary Enterprises Corporation Thursday, September 19, 2019 REVISED Minutes Language Hall, President's Conference Room

The meeting was called to order at 12:05 p.m. and was adjourned at 1:03 p.m.

MEMBER ATTENDEES: President Thomas Isekenegbe, Chair; Grisselle Nadal, Secretary; Assistant Vice

President David Taylor, Treasurer; Ryan McCarthy, Athletics Director, Katherine McGuire, external member; Michael Williams, external member, SGA President Anthony Cuevas, SGA Vice President Quianna Berry, Jazmin Caldwell, Legal

Legislator, Treasurer Diana Valenzuela, SGA Senator Jeffrey Ewell, and SGA Senator

Kathryn Arias Kalinowski.

GUESTS: Bernard Gantt, Dean of Student Success; Kay Ellis, Vice President of Administration

& Finance; Manny Lopez, Associate Dean for Student Development; Dr. Debra Gonsher, Chair of the Department of Communication Arts & Sciences; Gregory Rosenberg, Finance Specialist; Kelly Peloquin, Associate Director of Athletics; Faith Thompson, Athletics Coordinator; Amber Lake, SGA member; Christian Davila, SGA

Member; and Zhane Ligon, Academic Success.

ABSENT: Faculty member Sharmila Mukherjee

President Thomas Isekenegbe, Chair, called the meeting to order at 12:05 pm and welcomed all returning and new student members to Auxiliary Enterprise Corporation (AEC). Brief introductions from each member was welcomed. President Isekenegbe asked for a motion to approve the AEC minutes from Thursday, May 23, 2019. The motion was so moved by Jeffrey Ewell and seconded by Michael Williams and passed unanimously. There were no public comments to be heard by the committee.

Chair Isekenegbe advised that he hoped AEC members were able to review the AEC Bylaws, AEC MOU, CUNY Auxiliary Enterprise Corporation Guidelines, Conflict of Interest Policy and Annual Statement and Affirmation, All Funds Expense Matrix Information as well as the Agenda emailed to all members by the Secretary one week ago. President Isekenegbe explained that AEC generates revenue from the sale of items such as: parking passes, vending machines, food service sales, campus rentals, etc. Some of the items funds from AEC may be used for include academic support services, student activities, campus staff development and/or conferences, campus events, student/faculty/staff conferences or travel. The thorough overview of the responsibilities of AEC members and the importance of attending every meeting served as information to the new members and a reminder to returning members.

Jeffrey Ewell was nominated by Anthony Cuevas, SGA President, to be Vice Chair of AEC. Jeffrey Ewell accepted the nomination. President Isekenegbe asked for a motion to vote on the action. The motion was so moved by Michael Williams, seconded by Diana Valenzuela and passed unanimously. Diana Valenzuela was nominated by Anthony Cuevas, SGA President to be Second Vice Chair of AEC. Diana Valenzuela accepted the nomination. President Isekenegbe asked for a motion to vote on the action. The motion was so moved by Katherine McGuire, seconded by Jeffrey Ewell and passed unanimously.

The Executive Committee was constituted and its membership consists of the officers of AEC. The AEC shall have the power to act for the full Board when classes are not in session. A majority of the members of the Executive Committee shall have the power to act for the full Board when circumstances make it unfeasible to all attend a meeting. An action of the Executive Committee shall be reviewed and voted upon at the next regularly scheduled meeting of the full Board.

The Budget and Contract Committee develops all contract and budget proposals subject to review and approval by AEC. The budget and contracts of AEC shall be proposed by the Treasurer and submitted to the Committee. The Committee shall consist of 5 members. Two (2) administrators and two (2) students and (1) faculty member. The members are Chair Isekenegbe, Treasurer David Taylor, Diana Valenzuela (student) and Jeffrey Ewell (student). One faculty member is still outstanding from the committee.

The Audit Committee of the AEC consists of two (2) independent and one (1) student director elected by the AEC. The Audit Committee oversees the accounting, financial reporting processes and audit of AEC's financial statements. Note: the accounts of AEC shall be audited annually by outside certified public accountants (selected or renewed annually) subject to CUNY approval. Katherine McGuire, and Michael Williams (external AEC members), as well as Katherine Kalinowsky (student), were nominated by President Isekenegbe. Chair Isekenegbe asked for a motion to vote on the action. The motion was so moved by David Taylor and seconded by Jeffrey Ewell and passed unanimously.

Chair Isekenegbe explained that the Conflict of Interest Policy, Annual Statement Regarding Conflict of Interest as well as Affirmation and Signature document have to be reviewed and signed yearly by all AEC members. The Conflict of Interest Policy essentially states that AEC members will act honestly and prudent for the public good and not act in a manner that will generate personal gain. Chair Isekenegbe asked for a motion to vote on the action. The motion was so moved by David Taylor and seconded by Anthony Cuevas and passed unanimously.

Treasurer David Taylor provided an overview of the AEC budget and provided copies of the budget to all AEC members. *After budget discussions, Chair Isekenegbe asked for a motion to approve the budget. The motion was so moved by Jeffrey Ewell and seconded by Katherine McGuire and passed unanimously.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

The President announced that AEC is still missing one (1) faculty member to complete the 13 AEC members. He advised that there have been scheduling conflicts with Faculty Council meetings and Academic Department meetings but he hopes to have a faculty member nominated by either November 14th or December 5th.

ADJOURNMENT:

President moved to adjourn the meeting, so moved by Jeffrey Ewell, seconded by Katherine McGuire and unanimously approved.

Minutes submitted by Grisselle Nadal